The following organisations work with the Heritage Council in the planning and coordination of National Heritage Week.

Local Heritage Officers

County Heritage Officers are employed by Local Authorities in partnership with the Heritage Council under the auspices of the Heritage Officer Programme. The Programme has developed from an initial intake of three County Heritage Officers in 1999 to twenty five officers today.

Heritage Officers manage the heritage function within a county in a strategic and co-ordinated manner. They aim to promote enhanced levels of understanding, conservation and preservation by improving the status and perception of heritage in their local area.

The Office of Public Works (OPW)

The Office of Public Works is one of the oldest State bodies in Ireland, having been originally established in August 1831. The OPW’s mission is – ‘To deliver, in support of Government policies, high quality customer services in property, flood risk management, general procurement and heritage in the most sustainable, efficient, and economic way possible”.

OPW has responsibility for the day-to-day management of a range of the built heritage including its conservation and presentation. Most of the State’s prime monuments and archaeological sites are included in the collection of over 700 National Monuments in the care of OPW. The maintenance and conservation of these is a painstaking task, involving research and direction by architects and archaeologists, who are experts in the conservation of ancient structures, together with a skilled workforce using traditional crafts and, where appropriate, modern technology. This ensures that the monuments, which were created over the ages – in some cases, over 5,000 years ago – will be passed on to future generations to care for and appreciate. For further information about monuments and sites in the care of the OPW visit

The Library Council

An Chomhairle Leabharlanna – The Library Council is the advisory body on public libraries to national and local government in Ireland.

An Chomhairle Leabharlanna (The Library Council) was established by the Public Libraries Act, 1947. The functions of the Council, as set out in the Local Government Act 2001 include:

  • The provision of advice, assistance and services to library authorities in relation to the public library service,
  • The making of such recommendations to and the provision of such services for the Minister in relation to the public library service as the Minister may request or as the Council sees fit,
  • Action to promote and facilitate library co-operation, The maintenance and operation of the central library established under section 2 of the Act of 1947.

Fáilte Ireland

The key role for Fáilte Ireland, the National Tourism Development Authority, is to support and help the Irish tourism industry to meet the challenges facing the entire global tourism market and to sustain, or increase, the level of activity in the sector.

Council of National Cultural Institutions (CNCI)

The Council of National Cultural Institutions (CNCI) is made up of ten institutions which lie at the heart of Irish culture. It was established in 1998, with the goal of combining their talents, experience and vision, in order both to facilitate their own development and to further the wider national cultural interest.

The National Cultural Institutions are as follows:

  • Chester Beatty Library
  • National Library of Ireland
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art
  • National Musuem of Ireland
  • National Archives
  • The Abbey Theatre
  • National Concert Hall
  • The Arts Council
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • The Heritage Council

National Parks & Wildlife Service (NPWS)

The National Parks & Wildlife Service (NPWS), part of the Department of the Environment, Heritage & Local Government (DEHLG), manages the Irish State’s nature conservation responsibilities under National and European law. NPWS is charged with the conservation of a range of ecosystems and populations of flora and fauna in Ireland. A particular responsibility of NPWS is the designation and protection of Special Areas of Conservation (SACs), Special Protection Areas (SPAs) and Natural Heritage Areas (NHAs). Consultation with interested parties is an integral element of the designation process.